Pushing Barriers to Reach Mile 26

So in light of all that’s happening back home with the latest tragedy at the Boston Marathon, maybe a post about running isn’t timely. Or maybe it is. I’m really not sure, but either way, marathons have been on my mind a lot. As has Boston.

My marathon frame of mind is usually just, “I could never do that” or “I don’t think I’d ever want to do that,” but I do have to wonder how many other marathoners once thought that in their lives? It would seem more than a few came out of that conversation on the other end, given that the world’s biggest races around the world have turn outs of 10-15-20,000 people. And those aren’t all the same people at every race, which means there are quite a hell of a lot of marathoners in the world these days.

Twenty six miles. That is just about insane as far as my usual 3-mile body can process. And 3-miles is after I’ve built up for a week or two. Then it becomes my norm and I slowly push my body forward to reach 4 and then maybe 5 miles, never quite reaching a full 6.

Finally reached 4 miles (and a little extra)!

Finally reached 4 miles (and a little extra)!

What is it that stands between me finally reaching 4 miles again (after probably a good 6 months of 2-3 milers) and a marathoner reaching their 26th mile? Is it the pure adrenaline of the moment? Is it discipline? Is it complete control over your mind and body?

I have to wonder if at this stage I am a “I could never do that” kind of person, but perhaps in a few years time I might be a “What a great run, on to the next!” kind of person.

What helps you push through your barriers to get to the next level? Have you ever run a marathon? Or even a half?

Leave a Reply

