Perfecting the Art of Perfect Art

Learning something new takes a lot of time and a lot of practice. What is the best method for capturing that sliver of light over there, or how do I frame his face to look artistic, or just how much exposure do I need to accurately frame those shadows? These are all the things I find myself asking regularly now. I am hungry to know the answers, but know that most of them will come with time, patience, and practice.

One of my biggest flaws in my study of the German language was assuming class time was enough to help me learn. That is just plain and simple not true. If you don’t put in the time on your own, you can never expect to master something. This was made even more obvious after I recently finished Malcolm Gladwell’s “Outliers” where he claims it takes about 10,000 hours of practice at something to become a true master. 10,000 hours! I would have had to start about 15 years ago to master photography AND German, as far as that’s concerned.

So rather than being a master, I will instead aim to be as perfect as I can be…in less than 10,000 hours. And so I give you my favorite shot from last week’s walk in Prenzlauer Berg – where I learned to play with lighting, depth, shadows, and the rule of thirds.

PBerg_Street_01.30.13

3 responses to “Perfecting the Art of Perfect Art

  1. i agree – gorgeous framing and color and just perfection!

Leave a Reply

