Train me, personally

So, as I’ve told you, I bit the bullet and signed up for a personal trainer. While I’ve been pretty active in improving my fitness the last year or so (well really, it’s been the last 2.5 years since I first realized I could run,) but since I joined my gym in December 2011 I’ve really begun to learn and see the impact regular exercise has on my body, my mood, and my life in general.

When I don’t get in a few runs a week, or a bike ride – even if just to and from the office – I feel stagnant and energy-less. My mood darkens, my patience thins, and I start to feel a little down on myself. When I take the “me” time to get myself to the gym and kick ass, even if only a 30 minute run, I am awakened and feel good that I did it. It’s amazing what a short 30 minute exercise can do for your mood, and pride. And as famously quoted by Elle, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people don’t shoot their husbands…they just don’t!” (Looks like you have a long happy life ahead of you, A 😉 )

legallyblonde460

So I realized that my idea of working out lately has been running. Gym = run. And sometimes I don’t feel like running. I’ve talked to friends who are trainers that gave me good alternatives to a straight 10 km/h run in 30, 40, 50 minutes that I’m used to – mixing in some sprints and rest periods. But the truth is that I would also like a strong alternative to running, where I still feel like I’m getting a full body workout, and maybe even mix in some toning while I’m at it.

I realized how much I benefitted when living in Paraguay and watching Jillian Michael’s Burn Fat Boost Metabolism or 30 Day Shred videos in my bedroom. What I gained from all the exercise, which was not due to cardio machines, was flexibility, strength, and agility. While running may help burn fat, and even tone your legs or butt, it does not provide the flexibility you get from lunges, squats, and even jumping jacks.

jillian-michaels

Cue, Personal Trainer. I want someone to help me realize what my strengths and weaknesses are and to help me play to them. I want someone to understand inherently what my body needs more of, and to show me how to do it. I basically want someone to tell me how to sculp and shape my body in all the ways I’ve always wanted, but never knew how.

So after a trial session at lunch last Tuesday, where I thought I might actually cry from the strain, I figured – what the hell? Admittedly, I was a little gun shy after last week’s trial, so it took me a week to actually put my sessions on the calendar. But now I’ve got scheduled sessions for the next 6 weeks. At least. Friday is the big first day, where I hopefully get to talk about my hopes and dreams for my personal fitness, which means the next few days are dedicated to building flexibility and squatting as much as possible in preparation!

One response to “Train me, personally

  1. Pingback: Starting Again – Getting Fit | Anywhere Home

Leave a Reply

