January Already Kicked My Butt

So I’ve taken another step in the right direction today. I signed up for a personal trainer! I reluctantly handed over a signed contract for (what I consider) a lot of money, and agreed to get fit. At least once a week. For the next 6 months! There go my hopes of “trying it out” for a month. I’ve just full on signed up!

images

What lead me to this place, you might ask? Well, aside from not really enjoying running on a treadmill, and the random hip pain I sometimes feel after a good, long run (no reason to be worried, right?) I realized that I don’t actually know how to do anything at the gym that’s not a machine or a class.

I have been trying to self-train for a while now, testing out new exercises, following recommendations of friends, watching workout videos, etc, but for some reason they never stick quite as long as I want. And really, I am sick of my upper-body strength deteriorating more and more each time I try to lift something heavy. I am constantly on the search for the lighter suitcase, the lighter laptop, the smaller bag, etc.

So I finally decided that it’s time to build up some strength! Plus, I’ve never had a personal trainer before. Someone to pay attention to my body, to my weak points, to my specific goals, and to help me reach them! I get a lot of my inspiration from my friend Mel who started FitSteady in Austin, Texas, which helps match-make people and their fitness goals to personal trainers who help them accomplish them. So after listening to her talk about fitness for so long, and wishing I could use the service, I guess I finally caved!

So today was my “trial training.” I guess the point was to test if I was really serious about it and wanted to move forward. They help you run through a few exercises of their choosing and see how you are doing along the way. To be honest, if I had been unsure, today may have made me decide to never do it again. Ever. Especially when she asked me if I had “fun”. Fun? Does she know what that means?!

trx_photo_1

Maybe next time…

Anyway, today was a struggle. My level of fitness must be significantly lower than I realized, however I know it’s only a matter of time before I build up my strength. That’s the great thing about exercise, you just need to keep pushing and you will notice the results. So after not doing squats or lunges for a good 4-5 months, today I am back at it. (Note to self, practice before next session!)

So we worked with a high-tech resistance band hanging from the ceiling and worked on my arms and legs. Really it should have been a lot simpler for me than it was. Picture the equivalent of push-ups, but easier and then another variation. Then we moved on to lunge kicks (I was actually out of breath after this one!) and some form of plank but pulling my knees forward, and hip raises while pulling my knees towards me. AHHHHHHHHH!

I am proud I made it through, and only slightly embarrassed that it was as hard for me as it was. But I guess we all have to start (again) somewhere!

4 responses to “January Already Kicked My Butt

  1. Way to kick some ass in 2013. You’re inspiring me to get back to the gym. Maybe next week 🙂 A trainer is a great idea, especially if you haven’t had one. There’s a lot to be said for not only learning some basic workouts, but the correct way to do them so you don’t hurt yourself. Good luck!

    • That’s my hope! Someone to teach me what to do and how to do it right! I hope to see IMMEDIATE results, of course 😉

  2. Pingback: Moving In | Anywhere Home

  3. Pingback: Train me, personally | Anywhere Home

Leave a Reply

