Delights From a Hummingbird

While in London I kept drooling admiring all of the cupcake  bakeries that were scattered around the city. While Berlin is choc-ful-a bakeries, the type of baked goods and sweets they serve up are quite different from the typical American cupcakeries, (except, of course, for Cupcake in Friedrichshain where a good friend of mine is a baker and which is the real deal Americano Cupcakes!)

Anyway, they are all over London and I knew I had to try them at least once…comfort food purposes only, of course. (Wait, does that make it better?)

So I kept passing by this one bakery, (which has locations all over London,) called The Hummingbird Bakery and finally decided to step in on my last day.

The Hummingbird Bakery

The interior is a bright, shiny, and happy (if you will) pink.

With so many choices, the selection was not easy…

All it took was, “This is our bestseller” from the bubbliest and most friendly cupcake hostess I had ever met, and I knew instantly I should trust her and eat whatever she gave me. So I walked away with a Red Velvet Cupcake. And a Vanilla with Chocolate Frosting – just for good measure.

So I walked out of there with my illicit goodies ready to chow down at the hotel before catching my flight.

Cupcakes to go, please!

And my first thought after taking a bite was, “Why do these look so small?” and then “OMG I should have gotten more!” Though I must admit that the number 1 bestselling Red Velvet Cupcake was definitely the better of the two! 

Leave a Reply

