This Runner’s View of the World

A newfound hobby of mine when I travel is running. Those of you who have at least somewhat been following my adventure the last couple of years know that I’m still a hesitant runner. Like I can’t fully admit its a part of me, and yet it is the most natural thing in the world to me now. (Well, that and eating chocolate!)

I actually get excited to run when I travel since I know it’s an opportunity to see a new city from a completely different perspective. Usually early in the morning before the streets are crowded and there’s a peaceful calm hanging overhead. Lots of sunlight also helps! And sometimes walking around gets boring, but if you are running at a quicker pace (well, quicker than you walk anyway,) I find it’s impossible to be bored! And you see so many new and noteworthy things, (e.g. “oh I’ll just come back to that bakery at the end of the run!”)

Last weekend I visited my aunt and cousin who were traveling in Madrid. The first night I got there I was worn out from the 2 hour 40 minute flight, but we went out for tapas and vino anyway. The next morning I saw the sun shining outside and grew antsy thinking about getting out to El Parque Retiro before all the other Friday crowds started pouring in. I woke up my cousin, already fully dressed and ready to go, and we hit Calle Serrano heading south towards the park. Traffic lights can be a pain, but for the most part the streets were still calm. We were even able to do a bit of window shopping on our way down. Then you hit the park and it’s simply breathtaking! There are monuments and planned gardens everywhere you look. And lots of open and criss-crossing paths everywhere you look. It was so beautiful and I was grateful to be able to run through it.

20120324-111817.jpg

20120324-111915.jpg

20120324-112040.jpg

So this morning I find myself waking up in yet another new city (London) and the minute I saw the sun peek through the curtains I knew I couldn’t deny myself a run out to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park.

…To be continued…

3 responses to “This Runner’s View of the World

  1. Definitely a great way to see a city and spot new things to visit on your way back home.

    • That’s my favorite! Finding all the places I want (and hopefully will) come back to! Plus I run with my iPhone now so I can take all these pictures along the way šŸ™‚

  2. lovely photos….almost makes me feel like running….or walking!

Leave a Reply

