Other People’s Animals

Word is out that I am an animal lover. It isn’t that hard to figure out, since the minute you put a cat or dog or (insert other animal here) in front of me I stop paying attention to anything else going on around me. I simply cannot stand and talk to you patiently when all I really want to do is lie on the ground and play with your dog!

So since I don’t have a pet of my own, (as crazy as that sounds to me and everyone who knows me,) I have continuously offered to cat or dog sit for people when they’re going out of town. Of course, who wouldn’t take me up on the offer when they just need some loving for their cuddly creature? At first I would get super stressed out like maybe I couldn’t handle the responsibility, but then I realized it was just meant to be fun, (and I get to spoil them because I’m not their real mom.)

So I’ve watched my friend Kora’s dog, Sharif, a couple of times when she’s been out of town. And while he was somewhat skeptical at first about why his mom was deserting him, he quickly learned that I would let him sleep on the couch, and so I became his favorite ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cool Sharif

Then just this past weekend I had a couple of friends out of town for the weekend to visit one of their parents, and so I was asked to check in on their adorable 2.5 and 5 months old kittens. Yes, please!! So Elfie, Mohre, and I had some quality playing and cuddling time!

Gorgeous and Curious Elfie

Teeny Tiny Baby Mohre - only 2.5 months old!

And lastly, I have been asked to watch over Lotte for the next week while my colleague is out of town. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Lotte, she is our WWF office dog! She sits in our office everyday and plays and eats treats and begs for more treats – and really she is just such a good-natured and loving dog. So I am very excited to torture shower her with love! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses to “Other People’s Animals

  1. Sounds like you are in animal heaven these days ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I totally identify with getting distracted around animals. I totally forget about the humans around me and go straight for the dog.

Leave a Reply

