Misdirected Treadmill Rage

So I find that sometimes after a rewarding workout, I am filled with a rage I can’t quell. It happens more frequently than I’d like to admit, and I don’t know if it’s just my body’s instant reaction to “extreme” (let me have this one, guys!) exercise, or if it’s my inability to let go of the stress from the day, even after a successful run.

So usually the anger starts with something small, like the other day when I ran on the treadmill I couldn’t see my mileage, or kilometrage, (yes, I made that word up.) The machine would actually not allow me to switch off of “Time” to “Kilometers” to see how I was progressing. Imagine how frustrating it was when I just wanted to see if I already hit 5 km, and wasn’t able to tell! Or something as simple as the woman on the machine next to me glancing over continuously to see how fast or how far I have run can set me off, (in my own head of course!) I know this is hypocritical of me because I have been known to take a peak at the machine next-door, but I at least do it discreetly!

Then more than a couple of times when I decide I want to cool down for a longer period of time than the 1 minute the machines at my gym allow, I will slow the pace from 10.5 kmh to about 6.5 and the machine automatically goes into “Cool Down Mode” and only gives me the one minute I was trying to avoid. So instead I have to gradually drop from 10.5 to 9 to 8, etc, until I have reached the pace I want to walk at, (which is also the solution if I want a brief few minutes walk before starting up a quicker pace again.)

Pretty accurate summation of how I feel

And, of course, since I live in Germany…the machines are all in German. I have a key card that is programmed to speak to me in English whenever I get on a machine, but on the older version of treadmill 2.0, some of the fixed buttons are only in German and I have no idea what they say. Okay, that’s a lie, I have a slight idea of what they say, (I’ve become excellent at interpreting based on context,) but for some reason on random occassions when I hit the “Kilometer” button, (or whatever the button says that means check your kilometers, since it’s a fancy looking Deutsch word,) it will end my workout. And when I say on random occasions, I really mean it. It is not consistent. So I still can’t figure it out!

So now I am faced with determining if the rage is just the stage before the high of a good workout, if I am really just enraged and maybe the run is actually lessening the level of anger I feel, or if, as my friend Marissa pointed out to me this evening, it is actually better that I am running and taking my anger out on a machine rather than, and I quote, “taking an ax to [my] furniture.”

Does anyone else encounter anger or rage during workouts? Is it just a phase, or is it here to stay?

2 responses to “Misdirected Treadmill Rage

  1. I have random rage moments after the gym – I find that after a workout, I don’t always feel nice and energized or high on endorphins. For me, I think it’s a lot like how people react to alcohol. If you’re in a fun and bubbly mood, alcohol will enhance that feeling to make you unbearably happy, but if you’re drinking because you’re miserable, you become the most miserable person at the bar. Maybe working out when you’re angry does further fuel your anger!

  2. I wonder…or is it really like Elle said in Legally Blonde, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t. “

Leave a Reply

