Penciling in a Run

Getting back into the habit of running takes a little bit of time, but I find that if I work it into my schedule regularly that I can actually make it work. For example, on Mondays and Wednesdays I take an hour and a half long German class after work. Lucky for me, my work schedule is slightly more relaxed than most and I have the option to leave work a little earlier on these days to hit the gym before I head to class.

It’s a great release from any workday stress and gives me just enough of a break before having to use my brain intensely in German class for learning purposes. Not to mention it gives me enough endorphins and energy to stay awake during the class!

They key is to NOT fall asleep in class...

So I’ve gotten into my Monday and Wednesday routine, and somehow managed to always give myself Saturdays and Sundays off, (will work on that as time goes on,) but I have to say my favorite workout day of the week is Friday. The gym is almost deserted after work – who the hell wants to be pumping iron when there is beer to be drunk? Well, I do!

I find that my workouts are always the best after a long week, when the gym is virtually empty, and I have no pressure or time constraints of where I need to be at any given point in time. I basically have all the time in the world to run, or lift weights, or use the bike, and then to take a half hour or an hour after the workout to sit in the sauna or the “relaxation room”.

I also find I get the most mileage in on Fridays. Since I’m not watching the clock and worrying about how much time I have left until I need to shower and head to my next destination, I can easily give myself more than the usual 30 minutes on the treadmill and even managed to pull off a 50 minute run last week! Of course, I am just getting back into it so I only managed about 4.6 miles from those 50 minutes, but hey – progress is progress, right?

Even though sometimes running feels like this...

Yesterday was another great feat. This has been a particularly trying week for a multitude of reasons, and I was nervous about getting back on the treadmill and braving a run. I told myself if I could only get through 20 minutes, I would still walk away with my head held high and feeling proud that I accomplished something. So once I got moving and remembered how good it felt to burn off all that excess energy I had coursing through me, I managed to run a solid 4.2 miles in 40 minutes. It felt good to be back at my old pace, even if the run itself was a challenge and I kept debating if maybe just stopping now wouldn’t be so bad.

I guess the more I push myself, and the more small goals and milestones I set, the more I have to work up towards – like the girl on the treadmill next to me making my 10 km an hour look like nothing compared to her 14. So my next big milestone will be to hit 5 miles. Not sure when I’ll build up to it, but I’m sure it won’t be more than a week or two of pushing my time down, and sustaining my energy over 50 minutes.

2 responses to “Penciling in a Run

  1. That’s awesome! It’s always an amazing feeling to see progress, and something like running on a treadmill makes it easy to keep track of your time and mileage. Keep it up! You go, girl!

  2. Awesome. It is always a fantastic feeling to set goals and see results. That is what I love about running. It’s even more impressive you are able to do all of this and juggle your other commitments. That can be tough sometimes. Well, it can be tough for me sometimes. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

