The Doughnut Plant: A Review for Fanatics

In NYC there is a little-known secret, (except to the passionate doughnut fans out there) called The Doughnut Plant. I was introduced to this place by A a couple of years ago down when they only had one location in the very L Lower East Side. I was told to brace myself for perfection and though, “okay, I guess I like doughnuts.” Boston Cream, anyone?

I didn’t know what I was in for. And that’s besides the approximately 15-20 minute line that circles outside the teeny tiny shop of people (im)patiently awaiting their turn to place the perfect order, before the supplies run out. That’s right, supplies can run out! The Doughnut Plant simply locks its doors once the last doughnut is sold, whether it’s 4 PM or noon.

To put it mildly, this place is heaven. Sugary, melt in your mouth, confectionary heaven. They have Peanut Butter and Jelly Doughnuts, Blackberry Marzipan, Blueberry Jelly on the Outside Doughnuts, Carrot Cake, and…well you too can read the menu, but my personal favorite is the Tres Leches. I repeat – Tres Leches. In a doughnut!

Racks of freshly baked heavenly deliciousness

For those of you who have yet to try doughnut perfection, they just opened a location in Chelsea (23rd between 7th and 8th). Go buy some doughnuts, and don’t be shy because just one is not enough, (I promise you will thank me when you open your zipper after the second one glides down!) And while you’re at it, the Chai is also divine, though does take up some doughnut space, for those without an extra stomach.

Leave a Reply

