A Homecoming Worth Celebrating: Part I – Florida

After eight months of living in the wilds of Europe, I finally had the chance to return home. Thanks to my college BFF inviting me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding party, I booked a ticket across the Atlantic for a 2 week trek through Florida, The Bahamas, and New York.

The week started out with a grand reunion with my mom at the West Palm Beach Airport 2 weeks ago. We hadn’t seen each other since March. We laughed, we cried, we hugged, and we ate at Cheesecake Factory (yum!) It was 5 days of total relaxation, shopping, good food, and working on our tans. I had to be nicely bronzed for the upcoming wedding, after all!

My Future

My grandma also lives down in Jupiter, (Hi, Grandma!) and we had plenty of time for nice dinners where she lives, and at nearby restaurants. It was so nice to be among people who really knew me! And of course to be showered with love and gifts from Mom and GJ. It was a great week, even despite my terrible jet lag which had me really living like a local, (read, senior citizen – sorry, Dad!) Up at 6, breakfast at 7, lunch by 11, and dinner before 5…all topped off with bedtime at 8! What was the world coming to?!

Of course, now that I am experiencing the reverse jet lag (having just returned from this whirlwind yesterday afternoon,) I find myself living the rebellious teenager’s lifestyle, fighting my bedtime by writing on my computer until 2 am, when I really should have been asleep 2 hours ago!

Anyway, I finally kicked my initial jet lag just in time to hop a flight over to the Bahamas for the long-anticipated wedding of the year! With my long purple gown and my new 6 inch Michael Kors pumps in tow, Mom and I battled traffic to Fort Lauderdale, where I boarded my next flight to Nassau, The Bahamas.

…To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

