A Mouth Watering Experience

I first made the discovery of the Bacon and Chocolate combination while wandering around SoHo in New York City last year. I stopped into Vosges on Spring Street to browse the latest and greatest in Chocolate trends, as you do, and was wowed by the new top seller, Bacon Chocolate, (they even dedicate an entire page to it on their web site!)

Now I personally am not a fan of bacon. I never eat it, don’t like the taste of it, don’t like the smell of it. My mouth will not water upon discovering that someone has woken up and cooked me bacon. I might just hit them over the head for poisoning my home with those smells, but novelty is something I am a big fan of, and so of course I found myself purchasing two bars – one dark chocolate, one milk.

The chocolate that made the factory un-kosher

I knew I had a good audience to test this product on – my bacon-loving boyfriend – and I was not disappointed by his excitement at the find. Of course I had to take a nibble, and was quite surprised to find that Bacon Chocolate is both delicious and crave-worthy! It is not so much the bits of bacon you find scattered throughout as the saltiness they add to the chocolate that catches you and sets your sights (and stomach) on more.

So with this thought in mind, I decided to be a thoughtful girlfriend, and in preparation for A’s arrival to Berlin 2 weeks ago, I made him Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies, (a mouth watering experience.)

The process began by taking about 8 strips of bacon and frying them on the stove with oil. I have never made bacon before, so this was a first experience, but from what I gather you simply wait for the edges to curl and crisp up, so that the bacon has a nice crunch. I then set the bacon on a plate covered by a paper towel to let the grease drip and to let it cool. 

I then moved on to a typical Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe (you can pick your favorite, but this is definitely mine!) The ingredients are:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups  Chocolate Chips (of course on their recipe they say to use Nestle Chocolate Chips, but I am in Germany and bought generic!)

They also say you can add in nuts, if you choose. I never really like chocolate chip cookies with nuts, and I knew I was adding in bacon, so I abstained. My kitchen assistance, Kora, helped me to mix up the ingredients for the cookie dough – mixing together the dry ingredients first (flour, baking soda, and salt,) 

Flour, etc

and then by melting butter and mixing it in with the granulated sugar, the brown sugar, and the vanilla extract. Eggs were then added in one at a time and she gradually poured in the flour et all to the mix.

Ingredients for Making Bacon Chocolate Goodness

While Kora was mixing the dough, I was cutting the bacon strips into small, crunchy morsels. We then mixed in the bacon bits and the chocolate chips to the (delicious) dough. I had to add in a bit more flour, as I think my measurement of butter may have been a little bit off and it needed to be less liquidy for baking. But once I got the right combination of moist, but not wetness, the dough was ready for action!

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

I preheated the oven to about 170 Degrees Celsius (about 350 F) and put the cookies onto greased baking sheet (even though the directions say ungreased…it’s a new oven and I had no idea how it would work on this dough, so I took my chances.) I discovered that my larger cookie sheet did not fit into my new oven, and attempted to make half the batch in glass and the other half in the small cookie tray I own, so the first round came out a bit mishapen and funny looking, (though no less delicious!) The cookie tray needed to cook for about 9-11 minutes, and the glass pans took a little extra time. I still follow the “stick a toothpick in it and if it comes out clean, it’s done” method of cooking.

Poor Mishapen Deliciousness

But my second attempt, with extensive learning from the first, gave me perfectly round, delicious, Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies. No one believed me that they would be delicious, but I brought some in to my German class and to the office and people were impressed, mostly by the salty flavor infiltrating the sweet sugary chocolate. Most importantly, my surprise cookies were a hit with A and his friend, who had just traveled 5 hours in the rain from Prague to get to Berlin and were in need for something delicious.

Moral of the story, Bacon and Chocolate go together.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Leave a Reply

