How to Mix a Proper Muesli

Thanks to a few good experiments at Espresso bars and cafes alike, and the advice of a wise German friend of mine, I am figuring out how to mix the perfect Muesli!

mues·li/ˈmyo͞ozlē ˈmyo͞os-/

Noun: A mixture of cereals (esp. rolled oats), dried fruit, and nuts, typically eaten with milk at breakfast.

A bit confused at first, I was unsure if Muesli was meant to be eaten with milk or yogurt, with fresh fruit or dried fruit, but quickly learned that you can do whatever the hell you want. You can mix in different cereal packs for flavors, like adding corn flakes or some kind of coco krispies. You can sprinkle in coconut flakes, chocolate chips, dried apricot, raisins, almonds. You can slice up the fresh fruit you just bought at the farmer’s market. Anything goes.

So I start by cutting up some delicious fruit, which can be altered to your liking. In this photo you will see nectarine, plum, apple, pear, and kiwi.

Fruit Deluxe!

Then I lay out the rest of the ingredients, including Greek Yogurt, and the Muesli Mix.

Happy Fruit, Yogurt, and Muesli!

After the fruit is cut up, I line the bottom of a bowl with about an inch of the Greek Yogurt.

I cannot get enough of Greek Yogurt!

Then I take my bag of Muesli and mix-ins and put a layer on top of the yogurt. In the Espresso bar downstairs from my office they always put in a thin layer of granola which also tastes amazing in this concoction, so I try to mirror it in quantity, but always end up putting in just a little too much Muesli (or fruit!) – let’s just call it over-excitement! As I’ve gone on eating the pre-mixed bag, I have discovered some kind of oat cereal, corn flakes, various dried fruits, almonds, etc all mixed in.

Layer of Muesli Over Yogurt

Then I go ahead and layer the fruit on top and VOILA! Breakfast is served!

Obst Salat mit Yogurt und Muesli

Leave a Reply

