Getting to know the world

Living in Berlin is a fantastic jumping off point to the rest of Europe. Flights are (relatively) cheap to travel around and almost everything is within 2.5 hours. Berlin even has its own airline hub in Tegel Airport, AirBerlin, which has direct flights to NYC, so in case this whole Euro trip ever gets to be too much, I’ve got an escape route!

In the two months I’ve been here, I’ve spent a lot of time trying to get settled in my new city, exploring different cafes, different parks, walking down new roads, taking the S-Bahn or U-Bahn (basically, the subway) to down familiar routes but getting off at new stops to see what I find. The city never stops amazing me in its diversity and beauty. Just yesterday I ventured to Tiergarten which I have long heard of, but never had the chance to explore. I walked through an antique market along the S-Bahn stop and then made my way through the gigantic park finding my way to the Avon Women’s 10k that was (unbeknownst to me) taking place that day. People were out on the street cheering and chanting and musicians were playing along the route to motivate the runners, (many of whom were not yet 10 years old.)

But aside from all the great exploring in my new city, I am so excited to have a chance to really get to know Europe. Sure, I have explored quite a bit of it in my 25 years, but there is still so much I haven’t seen. And even of the places I have, sometimes big cities don’t tell you all that much about what the rest of the country is like, so I can’t wait to take time to really get to know what surrounds me.

As soon as I see the flight prices drop below 100 dollars roundtrip, you can expect to be seeing blog posts about a new city (and maybe a crappy hotel, ha).

Leave a Reply

