To Run or Not to Run?: The New York Winter Running Experiment.

You have probably read about my successful running extravaganza in Zurich, and many successful outings in Paraguay as well…but now I am back home in New York. In Westchester – where the streets are paved with ice and snow, and water flows freely, as on this 54 degree day it is (finally) beginning to melt.

I am looking out the window. The sun is shining and the wind is blowing, quite heavily I might add, but the blue skies and bright light makes going outside enticing. The only problem I face…sitting on my couch is so much easier than putting on my running tights, sneakers, and thermal top. I want to run, out of principal, but am not sure I can give myself enough motivation to actually get up and do it.

Sitting down will imply feeling lazy, maybe accomplishing a few more tasks on my To Do list, and talking to friends who are on Gchat and AIM. Going out will feel great, it will be hard to breathe and I’ll feel a burn in my muscles at first, but when I get back home I will feel accomplished…and hopefully the roads won’t be too wet or muddy from the retreating winter wetness.

The choice seems so clear. Why, then, is it so difficult to get up and go? What exactly is it that holds me back and makes me feel at ease doing nothing at all?

Leave a Reply

