Okay Starbucks, You Win!

I am back in Zurich and looking to get some work done. Yes, I am currently unemployed, but I am one of those few who still have a To Do list of about 100 things for everyday, of which I am lucky to check off two or three! So I woke up this morning feeling energetic and inspired. Like I could really accomplish something today. The only problem is that I feel trapped if I don’t leave the apartment all day, even though the WiFi and food are free, and sun light is plentiful. I have to get out of the house for at least an hour or two a day or I start to go stir crazy and lose my mind.

So I decided to find a nice local coffee shop/cafe that I could buy a tea or water and sit for a few hours pondering life, checking off my To Do list and writing for my blog. I started by calling a cafe I spent a few hours at the other day, Henrici in the Old City of Zurich, which is actually a beautiful cafe where I thoroughly enjoyed my time people watching and sipping a $7 dollar Chai. They didn’t have WiFi. Bummer. So I  walked around for a little bit with A trying to see what other cafes might be close to home. We came across another bar/cafe that actually did have WiFi (shocking!) but that was a little less than inspiring and I couldn’t imagine spending the next 3 or 4 hours or my day at.

After wandering the Old City and then crossing to the other side of Lake Zurich, and walking around yet another business-looking center of town, I walked past a…gasp…Starbucks! I always tell myself “No!” especially when in another country, (because they are on every street corner here too!) but their tea lattes are quite delicious and the big comfy chairs overlooking the streets of the city are more than inviting. Plus the big FREE WIFI sign might have helped me make a somewhat challenging decision much simpler.

I’ll admit it, I caved! And I couldn’t be happier on my velvety plush green chair with a hot $8 USD Earl Grey Latte in my hand, and a view of the streets below.

 

Mirror Image

4 responses to “Okay Starbucks, You Win!

  1. you are precious, sometimes you just have to give into the big, multi-million dollar corporate chains to get that taste of home!

  2. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So good to seek out someone with some unique thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this web site is one thing that’s needed on the net, someone with a little originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  3. Dude, I feel the same way about going to Starbucks in other countries!! It’s like you want to dive into the culture, not a mass standard… but then again.. when you need something and you can’t find it (coffee, wifi, what have you), it becomes a blessing. Sbucks wins again!

Leave a Reply

