London Bridge is Falling Down…

One of the great things about being in (or for those fortunate enough, living in,) Europe is the easy access to, well, Europe! It’s not quite a hop skip and a jump, as I’d like to believe, but it’s only a walk, train ride, flight, and tube ride away! Plus the difference in price from flying in from NY vs. flying in from Zurich, is at least 60%

So A has a client meeting in London tomorrow and we decided why not make a weekend out of it? So here I am, writing you from the tiniest hotel room I’ve ever seen! Well, the second tiniest if you count the room they tried to put us in in the first hotel which looked like a glorified cleaning supply closet! But as tiny as it may be, I at least managed to get us the King sized bed rather than the two twins pushed together (why oh why do they still do that??)

So far, London has been great! I have been before, but not since I was 15 and thought it was the coolest thing in the world that I could order a daiquiri at a TGI Friday’s without raising any eyebrows. But now, it’s a whole new experience…and much much better. The city is full of life, and bars and shopping and amazing restaurants. Yes, I tend to think British food sucks, but that’s just their heritage, and they have more than made up for it with the abundance of delicious restaurants filled with ethnic foods of all kinds, or just your classic steak joint, (mouth watering here.)

I’ll have to do a write up of the restaurants we’ve eaten at so anyone who might be coming here in the near future is guaranteed a delicious meal at not-too-pricey (in comparison to Zurich standards) prices! Plus, they have TEA! And I find myself saying, on more than one probably embarrassing occasions for A, “I’d like a spot of tea!”

I'm a British Teapot....

London is also endlessly fun for it’s funny language, (of which 99% of the time I have no idea what people are saying to me and need to ask them to repeat themselves a good 3 or 4 times before it’s just plain embarrassing and I smile and nod politely,) and their wonderfully entertaining signs, like the one I’ve posted below.

Seen on a community garden in Kensington

Better watch out that the Courtfield Ward doesn’t assist the garden community with your ejection!

Leave a Reply

