Another Year Over

Well, almost over anyway! I can’t believe how fast this year went, though I’m sure that while it was happening it felt painfully slow! I have certainly been through a lot of changes; my boyfriend moved to Europe, I moved out of my first apartment, I quit my first job, I moved to South America to follow a dream, and now we are inching towards December and then soon after 2011.

It is definitely bittersweet. While in some ways this was one of the most difficult years for me, I think my overarching feeling is that it has been by far the best year I’ve had in a long time, if ever. I’ve opened new opportunities for myself which would never have been opened if I hadn’t dealt with the difficulties of the earlier part of the year – and so I feel lucky to have been forced to overcome some major life changes and some challenging decisions to bring me to where I am now.

It’s easy for me to sit back and reflect now as I am edging towards the close of my time here in Paraguay, with only two weeks remaining, and heading home to see my family and friends for the holidays and celebrate the beginning of yet another New Year.  I can’t believe how fast the time passes, but I don’t think it will ever slow down so I might as well embrace it and do my part to enjoy every minute of the remaining 2010, in Paraguay and the U.S.

One response to “Another Year Over

  1. so excited for you – I think you did okay this year! can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

