Thanksgiving in Paraguay

I am determined not to let Thanksgiving pass me by quite like Halloween, or Labor Day, or the 4th of July. It felt sad to lose that tradition, as I noted earlier and so this time I am making sure I am armed with a wealth of plans to keep me occupied and my holiday spirits full! So far, in the works are a lunch at the office, a dinner at the house of my friend’s boyfriend who generously offered to cook a Thanksgiving turkey!, and possibly at the house of my boss who’s husband is American.

Yes, Please!

Now here is the tricky part, everyone keeps asking me “What should we make for Thanksgiving?” and I don’t even know how to reply. I can think of the traditions from my own home of what we usually eat on Thanksgiving, and some typical American dishes…but I don’t know if our family traditions are “typical” and I don’t know if Paraguay has the right ingredients available…BUT I am willing to give it a shot, hopefully with your help!!

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

  1. Turkey (duh)
  2. Sweet Potatoes with Marshmallow (Batatas are as close as it’s going to get to Yams)
  3. Stuffing
  4. Cranberry Sauce (does not exist in Paraguay)
  5. Green Bean Casserole
  6. Noodle Pudding  (a Parker family tradition!)
  7. Apple Pie (Not sure if Pumpkin Pie will be possible, but open to suggestions of how to make this!)

And here is where I get stuck… What traditional Thanksgiving foods can you think of that I can introduce to (and impress) my Paraguayan friends?

One response to “Thanksgiving in Paraguay

  1. I’m always a fan of mom’s creamed onions, but I know they’re not for everyone. And Crescent rolls! (I can give you a recipe if you need…)

Leave a Reply

