You Say Tomato…I say…Pasta Sauce!

I’m not sure the exact reasoning, but for one reason or another tomatoes are RIDICULOUSLY CHEAP in Asuncion right now, (must be the epoca.) I’m not talking about 5 for a dollar, I am talking about 1 kilo (2.2 lbs) for $0.15! So of course, I had to buy a kilo and a half at the grocery store the other day.

Let me tell you, these are the juiciest, sweetest tomatoes I’ve ever had. Seriously. Maybe the fact that I have about 25 adds to their overall deliciousness, as I know I can keep eating them as long as I want. But really, I bought them so I could cook healthy things with them, like tomato soups, tomato sauce, and stuffed roasted tomatoes, (this just came to me – will need to look into it further as it sounds amazing!)

I got busy on Monday, after my trip to the grocery store, making a delicious tomato sauce. Here was my ingredient list:

  • 6-7 Medium sized tomatoes
  • 1/2 Purple onion
  • 5 Cloves garlic (or to taste)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Cup cooked gnocchi

I chopped up about 6 or 7 red juicy tomatoes and put them in a bowl.

Fresh tomatoes, mmmmm!

I then chopped half an onion and about 5 cloves of garlic (I love garlic) to mix in. I heated about 1-2 Tbsp of Olive Oil and set the mixture to low heat.

Garlicy Tomatoe-y Deliciousness

En Route to Tomato Sauce

I let the tomato sauce simmer for about 10-15 minutes – until the flavors blended and the taste was perfection! I then took some pre-cooked Gnocchi (though I have recently learned how to make them fresh and intend to use that recipe at some point in the near future!) and put them in boiling water for about a minute, until they floated to the surface.

The end result was a deliciously rich gnocchi in tomato sauce meal that left me with leftovers (for today’s lunch!) It was my first time making homemade tomato sauce and I’m grateful that I now realize just how simple it is!

Gnocchi and Tomato Perfection!

One response to “You Say Tomato…I say…Pasta Sauce!

  1. sounds awesome. I actually bought stuff to make tomato sauce myself! Gonna do that tonight, adding a little ground chicken and veggies to make a meal.
    You can add a little sugar (like a tsp) to your sauce too to get rid of some of the acidity. Just FYI 🙂

Leave a Reply

