One of those days…

It doesn’t matter where in the world you are, sometimes “one of those days” just sneaks up on you to seemingly ruin your life, or at the very least your mood. Yesterday was like that for me.

It seemed as though everything was going okay, I got a ride to work with Fatima, which is always a plus rather than waiting for the colectivo to show up, had some hot tea with leche en polvo, (literally translates to milk in dust, but means powdered milk,) and sat down for a meeting with my communications team, all before 8:30 in the morning. I should mention that office hours here are about 8 am to 5 pm with a scheduled one hour lunch, that we usually extend to about an hour and a half.

It was at this point, the positive morning rituals began to dissipate and a harsh reality set in as I realized that it was going to be “one of those days.” How did I know, you might be wondering? As mentioned in my post about “being boss” my challenging employee decided to put on her combative suit and try to badger me into submission. Instead of complying, I fought back and wound up a little bit lightheaded by the time I had to leave on an adventure to the TV Stations of Paraguay at 9:15.

Watch your step!

Laura accompanied me as we went station to station to ask if they would be willing to donate free airtime to our commercial promoting conservation of water, (you can read a little more about the campaign here.)  We drove around Asuncion stopping by stations where Laura had connections for about 2.5 hours before learning that they were, in fact, not willing.

We then returned to the office for lunch where my mere lightheadedness turned into a more-than-dull throbbing. It was after this brief reprieve from aggravation that I was approached by Fatima regarding the electricity bill from the past month. 380,000 Gs!! (approx. $80) She said they normally don’t even reach 150,000 Gs and wanted to work out a solution should it happen again in the future. I didn’t know what to say. It was cold, I plugged in a space heater, when it’s hot I use the fan, I have to charge my computer and sometimes my phone or camera. Not to mention that electricity should be covered in my rent! (Deep Sigh)

Is that a mirror?

The day continued on much the same, my 3:30 appointment didn’t actually have space available at that time, my phone wouldn’t log me into the wireless network at the German Institute where I arrived over an hour early to wait for class, 40 minutes before class my teacher called to say she couldn’t actually meet at that time. You know the drill.

It was just one of those days. Here’s to hoping today ends up better than the last!

Leave a Reply

