Amanda’s Banana Apple Zucchini Carrot Bread Extravaganza!

I had the sudden urge to bake today. Not sure why, especially since I have been complaining to my office mates that we’ve been eating too much postre (dessert) lately. I think we have dessert after lunch about 2 or 3 times a week! And we already had cookies on Monday, (my treat) Strawberry Mousse on Wednesday, and then Ice Cream today! I’m not complaining, because I LOVE sweets…but I fear my waistline would have to disagree!

Hungry Hungry Hippo, anyone?

Anyway, I was debating between the awesome chocolate brownies I made for my American Dinner, compliments of my sister and the baking blogs she follows, (remember?) and perhaps experimenting with chocolate chip cookies, when I remembered the 2 bananas I had leftover that I knew I wouldn’t eat since they were already too ripe for my liking, BANANA BREAD!

So I looked up some recipes, realized I probably didn’t have enough bananas, even though Sadie (Fatima’s mom) was nice enough to give me one of her bananas…and so I rummaged through the fridge for some extras. Thus, I invented Banana, Carrot, Zucchini, Apple Bread! Here’s how it’s done:

  • 2 cups flour (.5 litre)
  • 8 Tablespoons Butter (or in my case, however much butter I had in the kitchen – can also be substituted for Apple Sauce)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (or approximately .25 litre)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 Medium Bananas (not those 10 inchers they sell in the U.S.!)
  • 2 Medium Carrots
  • 1 Medium/Large Zucchini
  • 1/2 Apple
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Preheat over to 350 degrees, or in my case preheat on high for a few minutes (gas oven) until warm and then once you begin baking lower temperature to medium-low flame.

In large bowl combine flour, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl mix together melted butter and vanilla, then blend in sugar. Stir in the eggs and the Banana, Apple, Zucchini, Carrot Puree until well blended. Then stir the Fruit/Veg mixture in with the flour and stir until moist. Pour batter into prepared bread or cake dish.

Bake in pre-heated oven about 55-65 minutes, until a toothpick or fork come out clean! Let cool. ENJOY!

More like a Fruit and Veg Cake than "Bread"

One response to “Amanda’s Banana Apple Zucchini Carrot Bread Extravaganza!

  1. Best part is how you are incorporating pictures to accent the recipe. Cues in on another sense, great job!

Leave a Reply

