Classic American Food in Paraguay

We are going to have a night of American Food here in Asuncion. I am trying to brainstorm the menu, (since of course I will be the chef!) and am coming short on ideas for the main course. I’ll let you in on my list so far, of course things may be edited out, perhaps mainly due to lack of ingredients, and particularly in the dessert section, since NOBODY needs that much postre, but any and all input would be welcomed and appreciated!!

What's for dinner?

Main Course + Appetizers

  • Baked Macaroni and Cheese
  • Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches (perhaps served as an appetizer, cut into small squares)
  • Grilled Cheese Sandwiches (may be too difficult to make and serve warm…)
  • Sliders – mini Burgers (if I can find right right buns!)
  • Meatballs (if I don’t make Burgers)
  • Buffalo Wings (anyone know how to make these?? and is it more effort than it’s worth?)
  • Mozzarella Sticks (anyone know how to make these??)
  • Corn Bread
  • Onion Dip + Chips (not sure if I can find the right ingredients here, i.e. the chips or the sour cream!)

Desserts (Postre)

  • Apple Pie
  • Brownies
  • Cupcakes (probably mini)
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Rice Krispie Treats
  • Strawberry Shortcake (or some version of Angel Food Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream)

Okay, so this list is obviously unrealistically LONG and probably also very difficult, but here is where I need your help. WHAT SHOULD I MAKE? What typical American Foods are there that can show the best of our “food culture” in the States? I already have some great recipes for desserts from my sister’s blog, My Baking Empire, but ALL recipes and ideas are welcome!!

6 responses to “Classic American Food in Paraguay

  1. Baked Mac & Cheese sounds delightful! If you wanted to make it an appetizer you could serve it in soup spoons. Buffalo wings are hard to make, but Mozzarella sticks are easy just buy good mozzarella, cut it in long pieces and bread it in egg then bread crumbs. Just make sure the oil is hot enough or they will be greasy. My vote for desserts is apple pie and rice krispy treats šŸ™‚
    Sounds like you are having an amazing time Amanda!

  2. sounds delish! you left nothing out šŸ™‚

  3. I love how incredibly unhealthy everything on this list is. Haha. How about BBQ ribs? Veggies and dip? Tri-color pasta? (Ok, that last one was just to see if you were paying attention… love ya!)

  4. mac and cheese, pb&j for sure, corn bread is pretty easy, chips and dip if you can find them. I don’t think Grilled Cheese would be that hard, you can always reheat in a toaster or something. Also, biscuits are pretty easy to make and pretty American.
    Wings might be a pain because you have to get the right sauce and bake them, mozz sticks are probably a pita and I’m not quite sure how you make them anyway. I wouldn’t bother with meatballs, but I would do the burgers if you can.
    for postre – apple pie might be a pain to make, but there is nothing more American (except maybe biesbol), brownies are easy so definitely do those, chocolate chip cookies are easy, krispie treats are awesome if you can find the ingredients. Cupcakes can be made another time, I wouldn’t bother (though they’re not difficult). Actually, I found a recipe for microwave cake in a mug – so I could send that to you if you want.
    Strawberry shortcake would be good – I made them once using scones instead of angel food cake because angel food is kind of a pain– involves lots of whipping of egg whites. Scones are simpler.
    Or what about something easy like Jello? Or veggies (carrots, celery, tomatoes, broccoli) dipped in ranch dressing? Chicken noodle soup, Is that American? Or like broccoli cheese or something. A Cobb Salad? I’ll keep thinking.

  5. amandasperspective

    Thanks for all the responses!

    Nell, I will try to find good mozzerella (but good cheese is hard to come by here!) but I’m happy to know mozz sticks aren’t TOO difficult to make!

    Allyn and Jessie, yes – veggies and dip are a necessity! Maybe I will try for a cobb salad – never made one before but no reason I can’t now! Also, Jello isn’t bad – I wish it would come out like on the Simpson’s though!!

  6. Pingback: This American Dinner « Anywhere Home

Leave a Reply

