Searching for Soul Food and a Good Workout

Things in Paraguay are different from at home. Starting with Delivery. First of all, it seems you can get anything delivered, (well, almost anything,) medications, pizza, ice cream. Unfortunately, a lot of these businesses are not well-equipped for delivery and assume you either know their menu or know their stock. They don’t have web sites which list out the items they offer or the price of their food. You should probably already have a clear idea of what it is you are looking for before you call, so you can tell whoever answers the phone exactly what it is you are looking for and when you need it.

I experimented yesterday with Il Mangiare. An Italian pizzeria with a couple of locations around Asuncion. I’ve heard their pizza is great, but I was really looking for some piping hot PASTA to help battle the cold that has suddenly sunk on Asuncion (and on the back of my throat!) I called up and successfully communicated that I would like Pesto Linguine and a salad, (made of lettuce and tomatoes – and not a random mix of other ingredients that usually make up a salad here.) The food arrived and was not quite what I was hoping for, but it filled my stomach at least! And I’ll know for next time to stick to the recommended menu options from friends!

Also, a couple of girls from the office took me to look at some gyms in downtown Asuncion last night. The goal was to find a gym for me close to my house so that I don’t have to keep doing my exercise DVD’s in my bedroom at home, (though Jillian Michael’s is truly a work out demon!) Anyway, we went to a few gyms, one of which was a bit nicer than the others, but it’s still not quite up to par with what I look for in my exercise experience. The nicer of the gyms, Cecilia, was an all women’s gym with a spinning room, and an aerobics area with free weights, and a few relatively well kept machines. Overall the gym was clean, but I’m used to modern equipment, (i.e. elliptical machines and treadmills from at least 2005,) and also closed walls – take a look at this photo to see what I mean:

A modest attempt at sealing the wall of the gym from the open air

The Machines at Cecilia looking over the Aerobics area

Anyway, the gyms were either a little too far from my place (walking 14 blocks to and from the gym in the dark isn’t really an option,) or didn’t have the things I like to use most – which is a big contrast from the gym I used to go to in NY or even in Buenos Aires, Megatlon– so I’m starting to believe my best workout really will be at home! But I’ll keep looking through AsuGuia, (a low-grade version of Yelp, or similar,) to see if there are any better options.

One response to “Searching for Soul Food and a Good Workout

  1. Pingback: Back At It Again | Anywhere Home

Leave a Reply

