Finding Your True Calling

How many of you have struggled, like I do, to know what it is you “really” want to do? Do you spend days/months/years trying to figure out what your true calling is? Isn’t it possible that maybe there isn’t just one perfect job for everyone, but rather a job or path that allows you to learn, explore, and push yourself harder to achieve.

I spend so much time worrying about whether I am making the right choices, whether I am on the right path, whether or not THIS job will get me where I want to go, that I often forget to take a break and take a look around me. To realize that even if this is not the “perfect” job or the “dream” job – that as long as I am continuing to grow, evolve, and create, it’s pretty damn good for now.

I have long dreamed about working with animals. To me there was no possible way for me to be satisfied in work unless I was working with/helping/talking about animals. So I pushed (and maybe shoved a little) to find my way to this conservation organization where pandas and tigers are our flagship species. And yet, my day-to-day work has nothing to do with animals at all. It’s a bit ironic, but I have to know in my heart that even though I am not out in the field counting Jaguars, I am preventing the destruction of the habitats of those creatures I’ve so longed to protect. Sometimes you just have to take a look around and realize the impact you have, even if it doesn’t feel like “the dream” straight away.

dream-job

I have a very wise friend who once laid out her view of the different types of jobs one can have; the job you are passionate about, the job that enables you to do the things you want to do on the side, and the job that disables you from living your life while working for “the man”. And in a lot of ways, I think she is right. It’s a matter of knowing where you are in your career and what you want for the road ahead before you can realize the benefits of the job you are currently in (or, in some cases the drawbacks.)

What is your dream job? And how many of you are actually in it?

6 responses to “Finding Your True Calling

  1. For me, a dream job is one that doesn’t feel like a job. It gives me the freedom to do the things that I truly want to do in this world.

    A dream job doesn’t restrict the lifestyle that I dream to live.

    I have my dream job. I earn an income through blogging so that I am able to travel the world. I don’t have to deal with the daily 9-5 grind.

    • It’s great that you can do what you love and still have time for travel! I love making my own hours – some days I am just more motivated than others, so a job with that same level of flexibility always helps!

  2. Here’s what I’ve learned lately:
    Say yes to life – to what shows up before you each day. Being mindful of what you want, your passions and intentions keeps you on track. Life is fluid and things change quickly; so does what makes your heart sing. Check in with yourself to make sure you’re not holding on to old dreams. (Yes I wanted white go-go boots in 1965. Do I still?) Sounds like you’re in a good place. Heart centered living has brought you where you are!

    • Good advice – say yes to life! And it’s important not to hold on to old dreams – that goes for anything in life, really. I’ll keep checking in with myself to make sure the things I want still align with where I am today.

Leave a Reply

